Report of the Cabinet Member for Education

Cabinet – 18 August 2016

LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS

Purpose of Report:	To approve the nominations submitted to fill L. A. Governor vacancies in School Governing Bodies.
Policy Framework:	Policy and Procedure for Appointment of L. A. Governors as amended by Council on 23 October 2008.
Reason for Decision:	To ensure vacancies are to be filled expeditiously.
Consultation:	Education, Legal, Finance.
Recommendation:	It is recommended that: -
The nominations be approved, as recommended by the LA Governor Appointment Panel.	
Report Author:	Allison Gough
Finance Officer:	Pini Patel
Legal Officer:	Stephanie Williams
Access to Services Officer:	Sherill Hopkins

1.0 The nominations referred for approval

1.1 At the meeting of the L.A. Governor Appointment Panel held on 28 July 2016, nominations were recommended for approval as follows:

1. Birchgrove Primary School	Mrs Reanne Lee
---------------------------------	----------------

2. Bishopston Primary	Cllr. Keith Marsh
School	

3. Casllwchwr Primary School	Mr Jeff Bowen
(2 vacancies)	Cllr. Christine Richards

 Cila Primary School (2 vacancies) 	Mrs Angela Nash
	Cllr Paxton Hood-Williams

5. Clwyd Primary School	Mrs Christine Steward

6. Crwys Primary School	Cllr Paxton Hood-Williams

 Cwmglas Primary School (2 vacancies) 	Cllr. Paul Lloyd
	Mr John Hague

8. Danygraig Primary School	Cllr. Clive Lloyd

9. Hafod Primary School	Cllr. Beverley Hopkins
	Mrs Hayley Purcell

10.Llangyfelach Primary School	Cllr. Gareth Sullivan

11.Mayals Primary School	Cllr. Linda Tyler Lloyd

12. Oystermouth Primary School	Cllr. Anthony Colburn

13.Penyfro Primary School	Cllr. Jennifer Raynor

14.Penllergaer Primary School	Cllr Wendy Fitzgerald

15.Penard Primary School	Cllr. Lynda James

17.Pentre`r School	Graig	Primary	Mr David Titerickx

18. Penyrheol Primary School	Mrs Sylvia Harries

19. Plasmarl Primary School	Cllr. Beverley Hopkins

20. Pontlliw Primary School	Cllr. Gareth Sullivan

21.St Helen's Primary School	Mr Perry Morgan

22.St Prim	Joseph`s ary School	Catholic	Cllr. Paulette Smith

23. Tre Uchaf Primary School	Mrs Rebecca Smith

24.Waunarlwydd School	Primary	Mrs Ann Evans

25.Whitestone Primary School	Cllr. Desmond Thomas

26.Ynystawe Primary School (2 vacancies)	Mr Nigel Thomas
	Mr Michael Hedges

27. YGG Bryn-y-Mor	Cllr. Peter May

28.YGG Bryniago	Mr John Miles

29.YGG Felindre	Mrs Anne Gimblett

30. YGG Llwynderw	Cllr. Desmond Thomas

31.YGG Lon Las	Mrs Trish Evans

32.YGG Pontybrenin	Cllr. Robert Smith

33.YGG Tirdeunaw	Mr John James

	•	Community	Cllr. Paul Lloyd
Schoo	DI		Cllr Mandy Evans

35.Olchfa School	Cllr. Jennifer Raynor

36. Penyrheol Comp School	orehensive	Cllr Christine Richards
(2 vacancies)		Mr Jeff Bowen

37. Pentrehafod Comprehensive	Cllr. T. Mike White
School (3 vacancies)	Cllr. Graham Thomas
	Cllr. Peter Black

38.Pontarddulais Comprehensive School	Cllr. Wendy Fitzgerald
--	------------------------

Cllr. Robert Smith
C

2.0 Financial Implications

2.1 There are no financial implications for the appointments; all costs will be met from existing budgets.

3.0 Legal Implications

3.1 There are no legal implications associated with this report.

4.0 Equality and Engagement implications

4.1 There are no equality and engagement implications associated with this report.

Background papers: None

Appendices: None